Jumping Through Hoops

You guys know how I love metaphors.

I jokingly posted one of these dog hoop pictures on Enjoy Life’s Facebook Page a few minutes ago, and realized that there is really a deeper thing to look at here.

A lot of people I’ve talked to recently are hung up on the hoops they have to jump through to accomplish their goals. Maybe it’s a business license they have to apply for, a massage test they have to take, a form they have to fill out or a phone call they have to make. We don’t like the hoops.

The work I’ve been doing lately has to do with relating to those feelings differently. Even if I feel like I don’t want to do something, when I am connected with the value of that action and leaving room for the thoughts, feelings and urges that may arise that make me want to not do it, it helps me to get it done and to feel accomplished and fulfilled.

Looking at the hoops differently can maybe help to get through them if we choose, and we might just enjoy the brief moment of flight we experience as we do so. Plus the sun might be shining and maybe there is grass under our bare feet.

Sometimes a mental picture helps to remember stuff. Which is why there is this:

Image

A new acoustic song about how sometimes it’s good to have some hardship to create magical things, or something like that 🙂 http://soundcloud.com/starshipjenerprise/my-boat-by-jennifer-stuart

Do you have any fun hoops you jumped through recently? 🙂

Hope you are well!

19 thoughts on “Jumping Through Hoops

  1. Thanks for bringing up this topic. And I especially appreciate your approach. Acknowledging the resistance to the hoop and then using that to get to know ourselves better is fabulous. I think the fear of failure can really suck the fun out of the journey. Acknowledging that it is, indeed, a possibility (failing a test … problems with getting licensed, etc.) and then deciding to be gentle with oneself if it happens, takes away a lot of the reluctance (at least for me).
    Bring on the hoops!

  2. The deep satisfaction of accomplishment is most poignant after struggle. Wins that you really work for are the most meaningful. Yes, we can resist the hoops, but it is the hoops (and the brick walls and the detours) that make the final outcome into an opportunity for growth.

    -aniko

    • Thanks Aniko 🙂 I agree. Being willing to get through some struggles and at least experience them, rather than running away before they even start, (or while they are happening- car garage!) can cause us to really miss out on some of the fun satisfaction feeling after! I sort of forgot about that whole aspect of it in my mind!

  3. This post reminds me of my past experience getting licensed in engineering. Although I didn’t want to deal with a difficult test, I was very aware that I want all Engineers to prove their worthiness before given license to stamp design drawings. So looking at the greater benefit and social impact was helpful to me.

    • Thanks for coming by, Anne! I’m glad this was helpful. Tests like that are one of the hugest things that people seem to really hate and at the same time, they really need to take them. And when its done, it’s done 🙂

  4. Jennifer, what a great way to look at hoops. Leaving room for the resistance and negative feelings and yet focusing on the value of the action. Thanks for sharing this, truly.

Leave a Reply

